Basketball Wall Street: “It’s All About Basketball & Valhalla For Sekinski”

 

images-4

Basketball Wall Street: “It’s All About Basketball & Valhalla For Sekinski”

unnamed (17)

Name: Shelby Sekinski
Height: 5′-foot-5″
Class: 2020
Position: Guard
School: Valhalla High School-(Valhalla,New York)
GPA: 3.6
College Projection: Division I
Travel Club: Empire State Blue Flames

Strengths

  • Perimeter Shooting
  • Scorers Mentality
  • Ball Handling
  • Good Passing IQ

unnamed (18).jpg

Shelby Sekinski is a young guard prospect that is focused and dedicated to academics and basketball. The Valhalla New York native enjoys playing the game so much that she feels comfortable on any court.”My favorite thing about the the sport is just being on the court. Once I step on the court all of my thoughts, problems and worries go away and my mind is clear.” “Basketball takes up most of my life. I fell like I don’t live at home, I live on the court.I love the feeling of people coming to the games to watch my team play.” Playing for the Empire State Blue Flames travel club Shelby has gained a wealth of knowledge and experience participating in some of the top collegiate exposure events in North Carolina,Tennessee and Kentucky.”There are many differences in high school and club basketball, one is the tempo of the game. In club basketball the game is much faster, and national level club teams are much more competitive than high school teams.”

Shelby will be entering the ninth grade this season but was a starter for the Valhalla High School varsity basketball team last season averaging thirteen points a game and playing at a very high level. “High school basketball is a great experience for me being able to fit in and get along so well with all of the older girls. They welcomed me in like there was not a three to four year age difference.” “We played great together and made it to the semi-finals of our class.” Being the consummate student-athlete Shelby is sporting a 3.6 grade point average and has done volunteer work assisting patients at the Burke Rehabilitation Center. Moreover, she has also helped set up a Pancreatic Cancer Walk station in addition to helping her local church organize CYO basketball games.”I have to stay on top of my school work and maintain a good grade point average.” Look for Shelby to have a standout season for Valhalla High School.

Leave a Reply

