Basketball Wall Street USA: “Long Island Tradition”

 

NIKE_Just_do_it_logo

Basketball Wall Street USA:”Long Island Tradition”

By: Silverio Ford

Long Island is a very special place in New York being the most populated island of any U.S State or territory. The Island is also known for its many outstanding and distinguished female basketball players such as Syosset native Sue Bird and Bethany LeSueur of Garden City. Nicole Kaczmarski from Sachem, then add in Samantha Prahalis of Commack and Bria Hartley that attended North Babylon just to name a few. Holbrook native Danielle Cosgrove is an elite 6-foot-4 sophomore forward prospect that is very proud to be from Long Island and is ready to carry on the great basketball tradition at Sachem East High School.

“Growing up on Long Island has been amazing! aside from the fact that I have the majority of my family here, I think Long Island is a very diverse place to live and it has taught me how to handle myself in many situations. Being so close to New York City has allowed me to experience some great things on and off the court.” says Cosgrove who is also a goal orientated student-athlete with a 3.4-GPA. “My goals for this upcoming summer and high school season are to push myself to get better in every aspect of my game. Most importantly I want to improve my leadership skills. By the end of the summer I want to be able to lead a group of girls, whether its high school or with the Philadelphia Belles, to a Championship.”

Cosgrove has been receiving heavy recruiting attention from schools such as: Michigan;Louisville;South Carolina;Florida;St Johns;Colorado and Michigan State. She also participated in the 2016 “SayYesToSuccess Scholastic Showcase NYC” high school event this past  Martin Luther King Jr weekend and played at a very high level.

“Playing in the SayYesToSuccess high school event this season was amazing! I think it gave me and my team the ability to challenge ourselves and to see how we would hold up against a good team. It was a great experience and I hope we get the chance to play in it next season” says Cosgrove who would like to pursue a career in Criminal Justice. “My dream school would be somewhere that has a coach and a team that is not afraid to push me to my limits. I want a school that will ultimately help me reach my full potential. As for the academic portion of college, I would like to attend a school with a good Criminal Justice program as this is my intended major as of now.”

Leave a Reply

